Questions from a Newbie

So today was may maiden voyage on my OC1. For the newbie, is there a forum, publication, video, or whatever out there to set someone like me in the right direction? I went out about 5 miles off shore today and just couldn't get the timing down let alone know which side to paddle on depending on the swell. I had a Sea Otter (male) jump on the back of my rig and later I flipped the boat over going up wind (happened fast-and still can't figure our how it happend).

I've kayaked before, but it seem like with the ama I'm always leaning to the left in swells as well as paddling on the left to redistribute my weight as to not flip.

Anyway...I realize I'm a beginner, and after just one session I have so many questions on how to distribute my weight as to not flip the boat over, I was wondering if there is a source or dvd out there for some tips.

Thanks,
Vids

Submitted by Vids on Thu, 11/26/2009 - 5:16pm

Vid- 5 miles off shore? Being that you are new to this, try to stay near shorline to work on skills. Do not put yourself in a bad situation especially when a sea otter decides to hop on ( maybe running away from a big fish ).

1. Check your back iako. There are settings and It should allow you to push your iako all the way into the ama. This will help with your flipping situation.
  2. Perhaps paddling with both of you legs outside of the canoe for a warm up could help with weight distribution before the paddle workout.
  3. Divers usually use little sand bag weights at their ankles or wrist ( ?? ) for diving and maybe putting one of those at the back of the ama around the iako could help as well.

Be safe.

#1 Thu, 11/26/2009 - 8:34pm