Advice for SoCal oc1 Winter series

I'm getting really excited about my first go at the SoCal Winter series! I've been paddling the big boats for a little over 5 years now, but have minimal experience on the little boats.

So my question is this, the 1st event (La Jolla Shores, Saturday Nov 13th) features a 4 mile short course and an 8 mile long course; should I jump right to the long course because I feel comfortable racing multi-hour 6-man races, or is the learning curve so steep that I should cut my teeth racing the short courses to gain more experience?

Mahalo in advance!

Submitted by Salty Dog on Wed, 11/03/2010 - 7:54am

No reason to ever race short-course unless you're really hungover.

#1 Wed, 11/03/2010 - 8:01am

@ GOTO- That was xlent advice

#2 Wed, 11/03/2010 - 8:23am

LOL - thanks fellas. That was kind of what I was thinking, mahalo for confirming.

#3 Wed, 11/03/2010 - 9:31am

@GOTO- "aint a race unless you drink a six pack the night before."

Go for the Long course, if you fail, miserably, then you know where you have to be for the next race.

#4 Wed, 11/03/2010 - 8:22pm

My advice is a little different than above. Know your limits. I would probably check on each course and what ask about what conditions you may run into. As you mention your experience in OC1's are somewhat limited, don't be a burden on the safety boats or organizers by being in a race that you have no right being at.
There are so many races, check it out first. Paddlers are a friendly group and will give you their advice on what you might come across during each course.
Again, know your limits and don't expect a safety boat or a fellow paddler to bail you out because of bad judgement on your side of things.
Best of luck, I'm sure you will have a great time!

#5 Thu, 11/04/2010 - 4:51am

@Tpop- only a six pack?