Best OC1 for newbie female in Kona

I am hoping for input from experienced paddlers out there as to what OC1 canoe to purchase. I am a newbie to paddling but I have ocean kayak's and I am fairly athletic - I am a road cyclist. I am 5'8" and weigh 120 lbs - not much on the upper body strength which is something I hope to gain through paddling. I will be using the canoe strictly on the Kona side where its flat and not a lot of wave action. I have done some research on the various threads/postings but I am really looking for specifics given my size and location of where I will be paddling. Any recommendations out there? Your input would be very much appreciated. Thanks

Submitted by ddmkona on Thu, 09/16/2010 - 7:25am

I just sent you a pm.

#1 Thu, 09/16/2010 - 10:58am

DDM,

You might try call Papu @ Pineula in Hilo. ... I believe he is working on a brand new model for folks just your size !!!

No pics on website ... Try give him a shout on the phone.

http://www.occanoe.com/index.html

aloha,
pog

#2 Thu, 09/16/2010 - 4:31pm

start with a used Hurricane or Pegasus. Just post under ForSale/Wanted on this site and you'll get some calls. You'll have fun with either canoe.

#3 Thu, 09/16/2010 - 6:46pm

Thank you for the very helpful replies. I will certainly contact Papu since he is on this Island and will start searching the online classifieds for a used Hurricane or Pegasus. If anyone has one for sale on the Big Island, please let me know. Forgot to ask - someone is selling a used Vantage that was made by Steve Blyth. Any thoughts on whether this may be good for me?

#4 Fri, 09/17/2010 - 6:55am

The Vantage is a great boat for surfing and the bumps... The Hawaiian built Steve Blyths boat are the best of the vantage models out there. The Vantage is big boy boat (more of a 180+ lb person) and has a big rocker (curve bottom shape) for waves and down wind runs. It is not a perfect fit for Kona flat waters.

Depends what you are looking for: