Foot pedals for small feet

Hi everyone,

I am new to outrigger paddling. My husband and I purchased a Huki V2X this pas October and have been having a blast on it. We mainly got it just for break from SUP, but have been racing it in the Winter So. Cal series. I am now looking for an OC-1 to paddle on my own. I am a female 5'7" 110 lbs, so I have been looking at lower volume canoes. I have demo'd all of Huki OC1 and felt that they were all too much volume for me. Tried the Pegasus and the Hurricane and really much preferred the Pegasus. Part of the reason I think I liked the Pegasus was I could actually reach the foot pedals with more than my big toes! The foot wells on the Pegasus were much smaller than other canoes. On our V2X I sit in back and do not steer so this is not an issue. Seems a little strange that I discount canoes just based on the footwells, I wear a mens size 6 shoe. Anyone else have this problem? Any solutions, or should I just get a Pegasus because the fit just seems right. Just happens there are way more Hurricanes in Cali right now than Pegasus.

I hopefully will get to try an Osprey this week, any comments on how it compares to the Pegasus.

Thanks, Jill

Submitted by jillv64 on Wed, 12/08/2010 - 6:24am

If I were you, I'd take a serious look at going rudderless. There's a number of V1's out there to try. Really, really think about it.

#1 Wed, 12/08/2010 - 7:13am

2nd hand v1 market is pretty much non-existant in socal, unless you want to drop 4k+ on a new one. Anyone got a used aukahi they want to sell in cali? :) My 42 pound wannabe v1 "surfrigger" is just not cutting it haha

To op, you can put foam blocks in the bottom of the footwells to raise your feet so they touch the pedals.

#2 Wed, 12/08/2010 - 7:54am

i'll let anyone try my aukahi, but not sell it - find me at the santa barbara race - you'll all wish you had the rudderless after finishing the course and weaving through all the kelp up there!

#3 Wed, 12/08/2010 - 8:44am