Hurricane .. just came. How do...

... I remove the seat from the track? It appears that there is a open space at the forward end for the tab to unlock the seat, but I am unable to simply lift it off. I make things .. and I can see a couple of things I can do without needing to modify anything.

I just traded up from an 18' Alden Ocean Shell and this, to a newbie's eyes, is a piece of jewelry by comparison.

Jim
wetstuff

Submitted by wetstuff on Tue, 04/27/2010 - 6:30am

have to take off track. take out screws with allen. all done

#1 Tue, 04/27/2010 - 8:36am

wow, if that is a jewel, wait until you see/paddle a Pueo....

#2 Tue, 04/27/2010 - 11:14am

.... I haven't left the parking lot of the Audi dealer before a BMW salesman is pitching me?! I have not even sat in an OC-1 yet, so I'm not a prospect to replace something I have not even had the chance to splash yet. I'm sure there's some very fine hulls out there, but I have no illusions that I'll ever Race .. and the reputation of the Hurricane is quite good from all my reading. The fact that it may be out of 'current fashion' is kind of meaningless to me. The closest other OC-1s, I have heard about, are at least two hours away. I am in Salisbury Maryland.

Thanks ISO .. I was reluctant to back out the screws without knowing what's behind them. I've been hearing carping about an uncomfortable seat and have messed with various foams and gels, so I was thinking of messing with it. ...depends how I find it.

I do have another question .. I kitesurf in my local Atlantic ocean .. and had a roto Waveski/kayak, so spend a lot of time over there. Am I correct, these are not really suitable for pitch-n-dump conditions .. even waist high? I figure I could almost always, time-and-muscle my way Outside....but have dumped the kayak enough (sold it five years ago) to know I don't want to force the Hurricane to endure this sort of punishment ... besides it's got a rudder like Am's Cup boat.

Cheers.

Jim