Is it possible or desirable to modify a V1 hull ?

Hi there, my post might be a bit long, thanks in advance for your time to all of you willing to answer.

I'm training on an old va'a from my club, that is a good glider, but has some issues I'd like to fix.
I must emphasis : If you think my problems could come from a lack of paddling skills, feel free to tell so ! (In a gentle manner, though !)
I'm not actually a beginner, but I'm relatively new to this sport, although I've try - paddled 5 or 6 different va'as and 2 or 3 different OCs.
I'm aware of, and used to specific va'a paddling, and a former kayak and canoe paddler.

Anyway, here it is :
The facts : 7m70 long, 40 cm wide, not much rocker. I'm able to push it in the range of 5 knots average, 7,7 knots top speed, on flat water.
The flaws :
1) Difficult to keep in line : slightly steered whatever side, will continue a deep turn on the steered side while accelerating, and become more and more difficult to steer back. I'v read that this problem appears when a boat or rocket (same physics roughly) is more stable on front than on back of its shape.
2) Very, very, very sensible to wheathercocking. The slightest wind has an effect.

From that is my point : It could be easy and not quite expensive to try this :
1) cut 40 cm in the bow, while cutting deadwood in the meantime to get a smooth arched bow (for now, the bow end is very flat and straight, a sort of "old design wave piercer").
This is an attempt at counteracting the tendency of the bow to "steer" from the front, giving erratic path.
2) cut 90 cm in the stern, to fix the weathercocking. This might create a transom end, as I won't reshape the whole aft hull to pointy end.

It should then come at 6m40, more balanced and easier to steer.
Any advice ?

Submitted by fabrice on Thu, 09/02/2010 - 3:24am