Kaimana iako setting

I think this is my first post to the forums, so take it easy on me. I've been paddling for a few years now, and ike everyone else, I'm just trying to get better. I've been paddling a Kaimana for the last year now and have spent a good amount of time tinkering with the rear iako setting. I've gone from all the way in to questionably in and cant seem to figure out what's best.

Anyone have any insight to offer on the depth at which to insert the rear iako into the ama?

Also, has anyone tried to modify the iakos to bring the ama in closer?

Thanks in advance.

Submitted by dorkfacewill on Tue, 03/23/2010 - 11:17am

.... I paddle with a Kaimana and set the rear iako by measuring it by hand. I take my left hand and make sure the bottom of my left hand is even with the bottom of the rear iako and take my right hand and measure it up to my middle finger. Then I insert the rear iako into the ama to where my middle finger is measured at. This is the way I learned it by the rep at the time. It should work! If you decide to go higher, say two fist, it will effect your balance (unless you good at flyin the ama a lot), if you go lower (say one fist) it will run flatter, sometimes good in big water. Play around with this and I hope you find your range. But then again everyone have different comfort levels, hope this helps....... bringing in the iakos or shortening it, no need I think the hand adjustments will do the job, but if you hard up call the guyz at Kamanu Composites and they can help you.......

#1 Tue, 03/23/2010 - 6:47pm