Making your own paddle

I've been making paddles as a hobby, usually just carving them out of single blank of wood (no bends or bent shafts on these). I am now trying to (expand my skill set to) make laminated paddles and have bought some balsa to add into the blades (along with ash, white cedar and red cedar). Anybody know if there will be a failure between the laminations of the balsa with the other woods if I don't add fiberglass, kevlar or carbon over the blade? Or should I just stay with using the laminations of the other harder woods? The wood is expensive so I'd rather not make something that I'm going break....but don't really want to cover up the blade with carbon or kevlar either. If I have to use fiberglass...what type of cloth and weight is good? Epoxies, resins, uv polyurathane...any reccomendations. Any help would be great. Thanks.

Submitted by Sloughcanoe on Sat, 06/05/2010 - 4:37am

I am only a hobby builder too so i can really only tell you what worked for me.

I used a combination of redwood and yellow cedar laminated together for the shaft. Took a bunch of thin pieces of wood sandwiched them together. Paired this with a blasa blade. This paddle worked ok and was super light but I ended up snapping the shaft about two or three miles off shore and was lucky to get back. Blade was covered both sides with carbon. Shaft was re-enforced with carbon on the bottom 5 inches or so and snapped right above that point.

Next paddle was poplar shaft with carbon/glass covering a balsa blade. This combination was bomb proof. Used 4oz glass and whatever scrap carbon I could find. One side of the blade was covered in glass, the other in carbon. Could still see the balsa easily through the laminate. The blade on this paddle ended up being too big for me...