Mantra 1-man?? pros, cons??

Found a Mantra OC-1 on craigslist......can I get some reviews....is it a good boat?? Flat water, or surf?? Does it have a weight limiit. I'm 190 and someone told me it's for 250lbs and over......

Submitted by wahinehoewa'a on Tue, 10/12/2010 - 2:19pm

i have a mantra i picked up about 6 mos. ago as my first oc-1. keep in mind now that i am a novice paddler weighing 155lbs. i found the mantra to be pretty decent in the surf but i had a really hard time in the flats. the boat is a really good trainer IMO and if you can find a good deal on it and its in good shape id say go for it, but it is not going to be super competitive. good luck!

#1 Tue, 10/12/2010 - 5:27pm

you know the old saying its man not the canoe. we have this old race canoe from the 60's in our shed, that to this day still goes out all the time. but on the other hand it shure helps to have a top of the line one. check out this

http://www.outriggerconnection.com/history.php

#2 Wed, 10/13/2010 - 12:07am

When it is honking out there, this is the best canoe to be on. Designed by Mana Ama Brent Bixler and Karel Sr., if you find a carbon one, snap it up fast, for you can't beat the quality of construction. The canoe will pick up bumps very easily, but really comes alive in 25+ knot winds and steep waves. On flat days, move as far forward as possible and pop it more to maintain the glide. For the paddler over 180 pounds, this is an excellent choice for catching more bumps using less effort.

#3 Wed, 10/13/2010 - 9:38am