OC-1 Beginner Suggestions?

So basically I'm thinking about getting an OC-1 but not sure what type. I'm pretty new to one man (but yes I have paddled one before) and I did paddle for a regular crew back in the day. So now I'm ready to get back into it. I live on the water in hkai so paddling the marina for sure, and eventually outside (till i get my bearings). Any suggestions? Thanks for your help!

Submitted by nutinfancy83 on Sun, 01/31/2010 - 1:04pm

Hey Nutinfancy,

You asked a perfectly valid question, but don’t be surprised if you get a bit of sarcasm in response. It’s only because the question has already been asked on this site many times in many different ways. At the end of the day (and this is the thing that everyone is going to say) you have to try out different canoes and see what works best for you.

Now that’s not much guidance and I can guess that the reason you posted your question in the first place is because you wanted a little direction on where to look. Here is a quick (and subjective) view of your options.

There are some things that would help in directing you to an OC1, specifically your weight and height.

Canoes for the smaller person (less than 170lbs):

Fuze & Osprey by Outrigger Connection, Pegasus by Kai Waa, and Hurricane by Maui Fiberglass. The OC canoes will be more tippy, but better suited to ocean swell than the Hurricane. The Hurricane will be more stable, but people often find the seat to be uncomfortable if you are paddling more than an hour. The Hurricane does well in flat water, but not so great for ocean swell. I’ve never paddled a Pegasus, but from what I understand it’s a great open ocean canoe for the smaller person, but not as fast in the flats or as stable as the Hurricane.

Canoes for the medium sized person:

Zephyr by Outrigger Connection, Pueo by Kamanu Composites, and Scorpius XM by Kai Waa (170-200lbs):