OC2 strength?

Hey,

Pretty new to this sport, my background is Wildwater canoe racing so not that familiar at the equipment just yet.

I have a OC2 and paddle in Ireland, last week we went out in some decent surf and could feel the boat flex a good bit each time on the way out, does anyone know if a OC2 can handle this or is there a danger it could snap? Is it made more for out past the surf break?

I know every boat manufacturer is different some are stronger etc... so a rough idea would be super, FYI the boat is an Allwave Oracle duo, Vinylester resin, carbon hull

Cheers,

Keith

Submitted by Keith Mc on Mon, 08/16/2010 - 12:04pm

What is the core material ? and how thick ? what weight/weave is the carbon? Is the same carbon both sides of the core ? what material is the centre rib and how is it attached to the canoe?

There is always a danger of the surf snapping any canoe and a double amplifies this danger, most Outriggers prefer the "green water" to the "white water" and running with the sea rather than into it .

#1 Tue, 08/17/2010 - 2:09am

Hi Latman,

Thanks for the reply

I aint exactly sure of the construction at all, the whole thing is gelcoated so cant see the weave, I'd imagine its 200gr?? from the hulls rigidity I wouldnt say theres much sandwich in it, my river boat is epoxy resin with Herex sandwich and is way more rigid so its nothing like that. its 17kg without the ama so its a pretty light boat thats why I was worried about breaking it.

I think I'll stop the messing around in the surf from now on, could be an expensive day out!

#2 Tue, 08/17/2010 - 8:30am

Hi Keith - I'm Adam a friend of Dee who helped get the canoe across to you. I raced the same model over in Italy earlier this year - very light. Wouldn't recommend being in the break any longer than you have to, large rolling swells are of course fine but I agree with you, could be an expensive bit of fun in the white stuff.
Good luck.

#3 Wed, 08/18/2010 - 2:51am

Hi Keith,