side affects of not rinsing out my hurricane After paddling?

so i just got my own oc-1 hurricane, A bit of a beater but its water tight and floats so its good enough for me. ANYWAYS! i usually tend to paddle out of lanikai or areas where theirs no hose readily available. to add to it, i store my boat at A storage place over here that also doesnt have a hose since where i live theirs no room to store my boat and i dont feel safe having it in kalihi anyways....

so bottom line is, i've paddled it a few times, And put it back without rinsing off the salt water. what are the side effects of doing this? will the salt water corrode my cables / seat / etc?

ive been paddling for a few years now and i realize that i SHOULD rinse my hurricane when im pau, its just usually not a luxury i have access to very easily most times.....

Submitted by mrhunt on Thu, 12/29/2011 - 8:51pm

If you transport it on your car perhaps the saltwater runoff can do damage to your paint job on the car leading to rust? Perhaps you can carry along a 5 gallon container of water to rinse off the canoe?

#1 Thu, 12/29/2011 - 8:56pm

i didnt even consider that, thanks colin.

btw, what kinda boat you running now days bro?
-palmer.

#2 Thu, 12/29/2011 - 8:58pm

Try go buy one can Endust and get a couple of old t-shirts for clean the canoe and all metal parts once or twice a month. Put some long lasting polish on it and coat the cables with Century synthetic bicycle oil. Tough to remove salt water water spots will take over the hull and deck. And the best stuff for removing them w/o scratching or damage to the finish is A-1 Waterspot Stain Remover, which Longs use to carry, but getting harder to find, since everybody using the stuff with diamonds.

#3 Thu, 12/29/2011 - 10:08pm

Get one of those solar camping shower bags. They hold about 5 gallons and have a hose and nozzle on the end. Would be easy to store in your trunk or whatever.

#4 Fri, 12/30/2011 - 3:33am