team management for the dummy - help needed !

Hi,
I was wondering if you could help me figure out something.
I've been paddling in an OC6 for 2 years now on the French atlantic coast, and sometimes trainings and even competitions get messy.
In this part of France, we do our best without skilled supervision, but we lack some insight.
The redondent issue :
Do you have a captain aboard every OC ? If so, is he the steerer ?
If not, how do you manage steering decisions like : race strategy, or urgent decisions (collision hazard, swell management ...)
Do you decide race strategy before jumping in and let do the steerer, or change on the fly (then who decides and be the final jugement to be followed by others ?)

In a competitive team, you obviously got a coach. Is he aboard ? Is he the captain ? is he the steerer ?
Is the steerer in charge of the ship whith full responsibility and last decision, or may he follow instructions from someone else in the OC ? and who ?

If someone has in mind traditional and modern different points and evolution of behaviour, I'd be glad to hear this too.

Don't laugh, I know we jumped on water before asking us the good questions, but hey ! at least we've got a big learning curve (a steep one I guess)
Don't forget it's absolutely none of our culture, so any help appreciated, even the 101 on team management !

Thanks in advance to the paddling community !

Submitted by fabrice on Mon, 05/30/2011 - 12:45am