V1 Paddling - Strokes & Speed (?).

Aloha to All,

I was reading the article "A Ruderless Revolution" on Pacific Paddler Magazine and I'm curious about the five (5) different types of V1 strokes taught by Manutea Owen and Georges Cronsteadt and mentioned by Ron Cotteen.

I'm just a V1 rookie but the ones that were taught to me were:

1. Front Draw (towards the hull);
  2. Back Draw;
  3. J Stroke;
  4. Poke;

Could anyone pls clarify?

Also, on the same article Luke Evslin highlighted that "unless it's dead flat, an OC1 will most likely always beat a V1". From my (limited) experience of paddling OC1s and V1s, and watching (both live & videos) some of the best in Tahiti, I believe that in almost any conditions a top paddler such as Manutea/Georges/etc. would be faster on a V1 than on an OC1. In my opinion, even tough they might loose some forward propulsion by constantly correcting the canoe's course, the V1s maintains a much better flow than an OC1 once good technique is in place. Obviously, the only way to testify these impressions would be a top Tahitian paddler racing the Te Aito/Super Aito with an OC1 or the Solo Molokai Crossing with a V1...

Any thoughts?

Mauruuru Roa/Mahalo everyone!!!

Submitted by feirulegui on Sun, 03/06/2011 - 12:01am

Solo Molokai Crossing with a V1...

Dreaming to see that happening someday !

#1 Sun, 03/06/2011 - 10:44am

I think Luke's comment on the OC-1 beating a V1 in the waves stems from the the possibility that an OC1 surfs a bit better than a V1.

Don't get me wrong here, my V1 surfs incredibly well and I catch bumps like crazy in it, but I think that an OC1 can race down a wave faster than a V1. Maybe this is due to the increased length of the V1.

Hopefully if Luke sees this thread, he can clear up this for us...

#2 Sun, 03/06/2011 - 3:16pm

Aloha/Ia Orana Kileki and Hiro,

Any comments on different strokes (for different folks..hehe)?

Thanks

#3 Sun, 03/06/2011 - 3:34pm