OC-1 stroke technique, leg drive?

Aloha all,

So I am fairly new to consistent OC-1 paddling after moving from O'ahu to Portland, Oregon 2 years ago. 

I have trained on paddle boards (prone) for some years and understand the importance of a good reach and smooth technique.
My question is with respect to leg drive involved in an OC-1 stroke. I know you can get much more leg drive in an OC-6 and other open hull designs, but I was curious as to how much other paddlers focus on leg drive or even utilize it in an OC-1.
My logic is, if you can incorporate more leg drive into your stroke, you are essentially recruiting larger muscle groups and creating more power as well as spreading out the muscle groups used within your stroke. Mentally I have been trying to envision slightly reaching my hips forward on the respective side of my stroke to essentially "cock" my hips for the power phase while maintaining a full arm reach. I have felt this really makes my stroke feel so much more powerful, placebo effect?
One more question with respect to paddle shaft position. Is it important to reach over as far as to maintain a paddle shaft orientation that is perpendicular to the water line throughout the entire stroke? Meaning perpendicular to the water line if viewed from the bow or stern of the canoe looking down the length of it, not from the side. Physics would tell me that perpendicular would be more efficient than at a slight angle. But I also understand that this reach can twist your torso out of the midline of the hull and might cause inefficiency and injury. Hope that question makes sense.

Maybe I am over-analyzing and I know there are many schools of thought on technique but I would greatly appreciate any input/links on this subject.

Mahalo

Submitted by JLanglais on Fri, 07/27/2012 - 12:51pm

Hello,