Scorpius XM

FEEDBACK GREATLY APPRECIATED! I'm fairly new to paddling. However, I have a long endurance sport resume, but primarily built on ironman triathlons and ultramarathons.

I did my first OC1 race last weekend on my three month old Scorpius XM. I consider myself in good shape, and have worked hard on my paddling technique. Midway through the race I noticed that I was doing about three strokes, to everybody else's two strokes and moving at the same speed. Something just seemed off.

Taking technique out of the equation, is it possible I am losing a lot of speed due to my weight on the XM (I'm a lean 5'-9", 155 lbs)? I initally noticed the XM is for 180 lbs and higher but planned to play around more in the surf with it.

Or am I just more of a wuss than I thought?

Submitted by dustin1023 on Thu, 11/14/2013 - 2:32pm

Well, I'll put it this way for you...
Firstly, why would you take technique out of the equation? I'd start there, and then move on to trivial items like how much you weigh. Secondly, unless you're under 120 lbs. or over 280 lbs. your weight's not gonna hinder you on that canoe. And even then, it probably wouldn't be your biggest issue.

#1 Thu, 11/14/2013 - 2:58pm

Thanks goto. I just meant assuming technique was the same from one canoe to the next, is it possible I could be losing a lot of speed on the XM (due to being on the WAY light side for that canoe). You answered my question either way.

#2 Thu, 11/14/2013 - 3:05pm

give yourself more time. Technique takes a lot of practice-ask Tiger Woods. Conditions matter. You are a bit light for the XM, an XS is more ideal for your weight- however time on the water is a key factor. But technique is the key and tricky. Just get out there and enjoy it. Where do you paddle? Get in a group of paddlers and work on improving. Slow down your stroke a bit and concentrate on the plant and a shorter pull.

#3 Thu, 11/14/2013 - 6:59pm

Patience and time in the boat.

#4 Thu, 11/14/2013 - 7:21pm