Switching from OC1 to V1

I've been paddling my Hurricane OC1 for a year now and also train and race with a Sr Masters Women's team. We went to the 2012 Sprints in Calgary and now already have our sights set on the 2016 Sprints in Australia. I got to pondering the possibility of racing V1 in the 2016 Va'a Sprints.

I am basically a rookie in this sport, so please bear with me. You guys know loads about this sort of thing, so, what do you think, is my potential goal realistic? Could I make the switch from an OC1 to a V1, train for two years and have half a chance of being competitive?

Also, again, totally rookie stuff here....I guess I'd need to purchase a V1 because my Hurricane is not going to do it as it seems most OC1's are not designed to go rudder less, is that right?

I've worked hard to get some sort of semblance of a decent stroke in the OC1 and OC6, is learning to paddle V1, with all its steering strokes thrown in, going to mess up my regular OC stroke?

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge and perspectives.

Submitted by ho'okele on Sat, 07/19/2014 - 6:10am

You got the perfect canoe in the Hurricane to train rudderless in. In fact, you'll turn better and do figure 8's around buoys better on it than the V-1, which is designed to track straight ahead. Fifteen years ago, paddling a Hurricane, Jim Foti won the first rudderless, "No Ruddah Bruddah" race put on by Nappy and Anuenue Canoe Club. Even at the World Sprints, years ago, only designated OC-1's, like the Naia, could compete in the rudderless races.

Originally, 25 years ago, all OC-1s or "Lagoon Boats," were raced rudderless for the Steinlager Sprints in the Ala Wai, until Walter Guild started manufacturing them with rudders as the Horizon. Yet, there were a few die hard rudderless paddlers back then, who would remove the rudder and race without them. They would win too, because they felt the rudder slowed them down.