New to OC1 and have questions

Hello fellow paddlers:

On flat water, my canoe (Kahe kai) is fast and it’s rare for me to huli. I don’t find myself leaning towards the ama as I paddle.

In open ocean (2’-3’ seas), I tend to lean towards the ama to avoid a huli, of course even more so when I am paddling on the right side. I'm 215 lbs. and rig the ama heavy.

The ama is extremely light, but maybe that is a detriment to a novice like me? So I experimented by taping a plastic 12oz bottle of water to the rear Iako. This definitely helped…but I feel like I’ve added training wheels. Has anyone experimented with longer Iakos?

While my paddling has improved partly by watching some of the videos online (thanks Johnny Puakea and others), I feel like a total beginner in balancing the boat and dealing with anything more than flat water.

Is this just a problem for novices like me?

Any advice?

Thank you,

Mark (Florida east coast)

Submitted by Jupiterpaddler on Thu, 06/01/2017 - 2:44am