Respect for Hawaii names please

Lili'u'okalani. Kamehameha. Ka'ahumanu. Kalani'ana'ole.
Seeing/hearing too much, "Queen Lili Race, King Kam Hotel, Queen K Highway, Kal Highway..."
I'm not an expert nor a native speaker. Just tired of hearing place names and names of Ali'i said incorrectly.
But hey- if you are a good friend of the family, by all means call them by their nicknames.

Submitted by novice c on Sun, 08/15/2010 - 2:21pm

with todays instant msg and txts abbreviations its a wonder people still
type out that much

#1 Sun, 08/15/2010 - 5:59pm

So, is it "Hawaii" or "Hawai'i"? Or are those the state and Big Island respectively?

#2 Tue, 08/17/2010 - 3:12am

have to agree with novice c post , respect hawaiian names

#3 Tue, 08/17/2010 - 3:47pm

So what? Is it a lack respect or mere lack of knowledge of how to spell or pronunciate indiginous words. My goodness. I'm of German, Portuguese, Hawaiian ancestry. English is my primary language. You would not know that considering how I've probably butchered the spelling of several English words in this post. Encourage the use of different languages by being constructive and positive. Playing the "respect" card is............ damn, my command of the English language as you can see is quite suspect.

#4 Tue, 08/17/2010 - 6:47pm

that and your ignorance and lazyness to learn and how to spell or say hawaiian names.

#5 Tue, 08/17/2010 - 7:02pm

Anowara-- it's always "Hawai'i"-- whether referring to the state or the island.