Please recommend OC1 for me

I'm new to OC1 paddling - three months ago I took my wife's Naia Iki (by John Martin) out and now I'm hooked. I go out three-four times a week, sometimes more. I feel pretty confident on it and am flying the ama almost at will, and can now surf it out between the Mokuluas in Kailua Bay. Not an expert by any means (maybe an advanced beginner?). But my sense is that the Naia Iki is too small for me. John Martin says it's really for paddlers under 150 lbs. I am 6'0" and weigh 180 lbs.
Which OC1 should I get to call my own? I'm not looking to race (maybe in the future, but now I just enjoy the waves on my own).
Mahalo for your advice!

Submitted by Eldo Rado on Fri, 04/26/2013 - 6:44pm

LOL ,,,, Maybe contact JM and relate your thoughts to him first ?
aloha,
pog

#1 Fri, 04/26/2013 - 9:48pm

Either lose 30 lbs. or get a Hurricane, Thunder, Mantra, Wave Blade, Polaris, etc. Of course you can spend the bucks and pick up that nifty 3 month old red Pueo for $4500? At least you no need wait? But if you one surfah, more cheap for go Costco and pick up them SUPs they get? No worries too when you wipe out.

#2 Sat, 04/27/2013 - 12:21am

Check out the Pueo, Scorpius XM, or Kaolele.

All ideal for your height and weight.

Although those canoes are ideal for a rider your size, they are different canoes and based on your preference you should favor one over the others.

Contact Island Paddler, Surf Line Hawaii, or Foti Brothers.

#3 Sat, 04/27/2013 - 12:52pm

Also, check out the Storm, Fusion, and Torrent... reccomended for riders your size.

#4 Sat, 04/27/2013 - 12:56pm

Sounds like each canoe behaves differently. Will any of the stores allow for a demo to let me try one out?

Anyone recommend the Zephyr?

#5 Sat, 04/27/2013 - 7:18pm

Go visit Karel @ Outrigger Connection. I believe they got some demos available.