Hinano State Race

Apr 13 2008 9:00 am
Apr 13 2008 5:32 pm
Event Description: 

Kanaka Ikaika and Outrigger Zone presents the
Hinano State Championship and
Lulu’s Point Series Re-cap.
What: Kanaka Ikaika presents the Hinano State Championship race for Open Ocean OC-1, OC-2, Stand Up and Surfski paddlers. This race stands alone verses the Lulu’s Series races that counted towards points for series winners. This is the last race of the season before the Molokai races which begin on April 27 with the PAA Molokai Championship.
When: Sunday April 13, 2008
- Registration 6:30 – 8:00 A.M. at Hawaii Kai
ENZA Fruit and Swoish Produce will provide complimentary “Pacific Rose” Apples from New Zealand at registration for those who didn’t eat enough for breakfast.
Free Tee shirt compliments of SHIRTCO HAWAII for the first 200 paddlers to register.
- Long Course starts at 9:00 AM
- Short Course starts at 9:30 AM
- Winners are expected about 11:30 AM
Where: COURSE ADJUSTMENT: Long Course will not go into Hawaii Kai as it did last year, and as previously stated this year. The start will still be from Waimanalo Beach Park, but instead of heading directly to Makapu, the race will head out to sea and around Rabbit Island (weather pending). From Rabbit Island the course goes around Makapu and the south end of Oahu, through Maunalua Bay to Kaimana Beach in Waikiki. The Short Course will start off the beach in Hawaii Kai. Instead of going directly to Kaimana Beach, the course will go back up towards Portlock Point before turning on a buoy and heading to Kaimana Beach.
Awards for the Series and the State Race, and lunch will follow directly after at Lulu’s Waikiki (Corner of Kalakaua and Kapahulu) with ono food, Hinano Beer and Malibu Rum specials. Don’t miss this one as there will be a ton of prizes and free give aways from Hinano Surfwear, Havaianas Brazilian footwear, XCEL Paddle Gear and KIALOA Paddles. Additionally, NS air conditioning will donate 2 AC units to raffle. Plus the Malibu girls will be there to sway the paddlers towards Malibu Rum products.
Lulu’s Series Re-cap: The Lulu’s Point Series was comprised of 6 races. Points were awarded according to the place you received in any particular race. Racers were permitted to drop their worst score, or miss one. Lowest score wins.
The Long Course OC-1 was won by Manny Kulukulualani with only 7 points. Karel Tresnak Jr. was a close second and Jack Roney was a solid 3rd. Karel won the XCEL Oahu Champs and Manny was 2nd. Kai Bartlett was not present, but should be in attendance for the Hinano race. Jessica Eames Edged Arlene Holzman by only 2 points for the wahine’s series with Kelsa Teters in 3rd, having missed 2 races. However, with Arlene winning the XCEL race, and Lauren Bartlett attending the Hinano State race, it should prove to be interesting.
The Surf Ski division saw all the top dogs missing more than 1 race, giving consistency the edge for points. The race was tight all season between John Hoogsteden, Kala Judd and Dave Campbell. But in the end, that was the result, respectively. There were not enough women participating in the surfski this year to have a division winner.
The OC-1 Men’s Short Course was the most exciting race for the title. All season paddlers like Jace Faufata, Gavin Hanoa, Kalei Kahookele, Charles Meyer, Rusty Goings and DJ Oga all had Varsity moments. But in the end, consistency was key for Kalei with 13 points, only 5 points ahead of Gavin, with DJ rounding up the top 3. The OC-1 Women’s division was controlled by Ann Dewey from the start with 7 points. The race for second was between Tayte Brock, Laura Lapa and 16 year old Julia Anderson, where youth did her thing putting Julia comfortably in 2nd followed by Laura Lapa. Again, no wahine surfskis division due to lack of participation.
The Stand Up division came late, however, Kainoa Beaupre would be the winner.
Questions: Call 927-0711 or 222-2484

Hinano State Championship release.doc33 KB

Posted by JimFoti on Wed, 04/09/2008 - 5:33pm

Page loaded in 0.190 seconds.