Hinano State Race & Soljah Series Re-cap

Apr 1 2009 5:08 am
Apr 1 2009 5:12 pm
Event Description: 

Kanaka Ikaika presents the Hinano State Championship and
Soljah Series Recap.
What: The 2009 Hinano State Championship race for Open Ocean OC-1, OC-2, Stand Up and Surfski paddlers. This is the 8th and final race of Kanaka Ikaika’s SOLJAH SERIES which has been in effect since January. This is the last race of the season before the Molokai races which begin on April 19 with the PAA Molokai Championship.
When: Sunday April 05, 2009
- Registration 6:30 – 8:00 A.M. at Kailua Beach Park
ENZA Fruit and Swoish Produce will provide complimentary “Pacific Rose” Apples from New Zealand at registration.
Free Tee shirt compliments of JCS Enterprises and SOLJAH for the first 200 paddlers to register.
- Long Course starts at 9:00 AM
- Short Course starts at 10:00 AM
- First Paddlers are expected about 11:30 AM
-Long Course will start from Kailua Beach Park, around Makapuu and the south end of Oahu, through Maunalua Bay and finish at Kaimana Beach in Waikiki.
-Short Course will start off the beach in Hawaii Kai. Instead of going directly to Kaimana Beach, the course will go back up towards Portlock Point before turning on a buoy and heading to the finish at Kaimana Beach.
Awards for the Hinano State Race and lunch will follow directly after at Lulu’s Waikiki (Corner of Kalakaua and Kapahulu) with ono food, lots of prizes and Hinano Beer specials. KIALOA will raffle a new paddle, and for those with kids, grandchildren, nephews or nieces, you can win a child’s AQUABEBE SWIM AID, the newest in babies’ water toys from Foti Bros.
Soljah Series Re-cap: The Soljah Series saw many new faces in the winner’s circle this spring. Names of past year’s OC-1 winners like Karel Tresnak, Kai Bartlett, Mike Judd, John Foti, Mark Rigg and other competitive paddlers either didn’t even race this season, or barely surfaced. However, picking up the slack were paddlers like Mael Carey, Jimmy Austin, Kea Paiaina and Danny Ching. And in the XCEL Oahu Championship on March 21st, Aaron Napolean proved that he is still in the game winning his first overall race in a few years. Arlene Holzman is still dominating the women in the OC-1 with Jessica Eames on her tail. Lauren Bartlett raced one race this year and won.
The Surf Ski division has been dominated by our visiting resident Szolt Szadovski. However, Steve Kelly, Sean Monahan, Stuart Gassner and other fast paddlers are still in the hunt for the State Championship. Maggie Twigg-Smith was the only female in the XCEL Oahu Championship’s Ski division.
Questions: Call 927-0711 or 222-2484
Mahalo to Sponsors: Hinano Beer, Soljah Clothing, Kialoa Paddles, Pacific Paddler, XCEL, ENZA Fruit, JCS Enterprises (tee shirts), Lulu’s, Outrigger Zone & Foti Bros. Hawaii.

Posted by JimFoti on Wed, 04/01/2009 - 4:18pm

Page loaded in 0.172 seconds.