login or register to add an event


Hawaii Modular Space Molokai Hoe Pre Race Interviews

[Tahiti's Rai back to defend title] Honolulu Advertiser
[Canadians seek improvement] Star Bulletin Prerace Article


Contact: Diane Fujii Johnson, Johnson LLC
Cellular: 808-381-9763 Email: DianeFJohnson@aol.com

The battle is on for the Hawaii Modular Space Molokai Hoe
With possibly the largest contingent of crews ever, the 52nd annual crossing of the
Molokai Channel will be a fight til the end

Honolulu, HAWAII (October 10, 2003) - With just two days until race day, tensions are running high and battles have already begun as crew members fight for their spot among their club's first team. Only when that team is selected can they focus on the bigger picture, winning the war. The war in this case takes place in the open ocean, in the 41-miles it takes canoe paddlers to cross the infamous Kaiwi Channel. This will be the 52nd year for the Hawaii Modular Space Molokai Hoe and over 100 teams are expected to participate with as many as 25 being international crews.

Months of mental and physical training will be put to the test this Sunday, October 12th, as crews will battle strong trade winds and choppy seas. Last year's conditions were the exact opposite with no wind and flat ocean conditions leading many to believe that those favored the reigning champions, Rai of Tahiti whose finish time was 5 hours, 11 minutes and 35 seconds. We interviewed some of the favored local contenders: Team New Zealand/Hawaii, Lanikai and Outrigger Canoe Club.

TV Airtimes for Hawaii Modular Na Wahine O Ke Kai

Silver Edition
25th Anniversary Hawaii Modular Space
Na Wahine O Ke Kai

2004 Kaua'i World Challenge (Free Hotel Offer) & Kauai Schedule

Time again to start thinking about the 2004 Steinlager Kaua'i World Challenge! The date has been set for April 24, 2004, one week before the Ka'iwi Channel Relay. Please start marking your calendars. It will be run much like it was this year in the relay format with changes done at each beach. 34 miles total. And let's not forget the cash prizes! Further information and the official website will be posted on OCPaddler at a later date.

There are four nights free at the Radisson Kaua'i for a committing team from France, Italy, England, Panama, Costa Rica, Japan, or Brazil. Please contact Tom Bartlett directly regarding this offer.

Tom Bartlett, Contact Info:
fax: (808) 826-5506
email: tbart at radissonkauai.com
(note: replace 'at' with @)

Keizo Gates
KWC Web Coordinator

Dec 20 - Rio Va'a 2003 International Canoe Race

Confirmations and an intent to race need to be sent in asap. Email(replace 'at' w/@): riowaa at aol.com
Also I found a cool video from the hosting clubs website. Check it out

[Full Race Packet] as word document

Rio Va'a (Wa'a) 2003
December 20th, 2003

Oct 4 - OCEANSWELL Waipuhi OC1 Series Race 4 Results

This weekend Coral Sea Outrigger Canoe Club hosted round 4 of the OCEANSWELL Waipuhi OC1 Series 2003 and it was a true test of the toughest !!

Competitors launched from a pontoon in the river and then headed (4kms) out against the tide and into some strong head winds and currents to cross the channel between Magnetic Island and the mainland.
Paddlers rounded one of the channel markers and then strapped themselves in for one of the best surfing runs (9.5kms) the series has seen in a long time. The waves were curling and the canoes just skimmed from one to the next linking up wave after wave. Paddles up and enjoy the ride!

October 12, 2003 - 52nd annual Moloka'i Hoe

If you're racing I sure hope you already know about his site!
[MolokaiHoe.org] includes past results, photos, & important info/schedule on this years race.
OCPaddler poll will be going up later this week. Email keizo@ocpaddler.com if any suggestions.

Official Dates for 2004 Hilo World Sprints - August 9 – 15

The official 2004 IVF site was updates early september, includes a general schdedule and information. Click on the link below:

Sept 28 - Mooloolaba OCC wins 2003 Na Wahine O Ke Kai

update:[Pacific Paddler Photos] courtesy Ropati / boat driver Karel
[Australian paddling team breezes to crown] Honolulu Advertiser
[Y2Kanu Photos] courtesy Rick Leton
Mooloolaba OCC OPEN 5:26:37
Outrigger CC OPEN 5:36:20
Kai Opua (Hawai MASTERS-35+ 5:44:31
[OCPaddler Poll Results]
[Na Wahine O Ke Kai traverses channel for 25th time] Star Bulletin pre race article

Contact: Diane Fujii Johnson, Johnson LLC
Email: DianeFJohnson at aol.com

With a record 72 crews entered, Australians take the title of the Silver Anniversary Hawaii Modular Space Na Wahine O Ke Kai
Mooloolaba finishes the 25th Molokai crossing with second fastest time -
misses record by just over 2 minutes

Honolulu, HAWAII (September 28, 2003) - Determination is what drove Mooloolaba Outrigger Canoe Club from Australia to dominate today's Hawaii Modular Space Na Wahine O Ke Kai. From the 7:30 a.m. start time, Mooloolaba who came in third last year - held a dominant lead over the rest of the 72 entered crews. Off the start line, they quickly gained an 8 minute spread ahead of Honolulu's Outrigger Canoe Club and held the one-mile gap the duration of the race.

NCOCA: Uncle Bob Memory Page

I am sure word is getting out but I just wanted to let people know that Uncle Bob of Hui O Hawaii of Sacramento (husband of Marilyn Steele, president of the NCOCA) passed away quietly on Thursday, September 18, 2003.

I have created a small memorial page at: outriggercanoe.com

If you have a cherished photo you would like to see posted there, I will be more than happy to do so. Email it to me. My email address is on the website.

Take care and paddle safe.

Michael Nyberg
Hui O Hawaii of Sacramento

Sept 21 - NZ/HI wins Henry Ayau Mens's International - Oahu

update:[Pacific Paddler Photos] courtesy Ropati
Team NZ/HI 1st, Outrigger, Kai Opua, Lanikai follow.
[Official Results]
[Y2Kanu Photos] courtesy Rick Leton
[NZ/HI Sets Race Record] Honolulu Advertiser Article
[Ayau race turns into no contest] Star Bulletin Article

login or register to submit results
Syndicate content

Page loaded in 0.207 seconds.